My Journey to Origins

Until about a month ago I had been using Cetaphil Daily Moisturizer.  It was milky and slightly thin, but it seemed to do a good job.  Every now and then I would get a “flair up” of really rough/dry and itchy skin, but when that happened I used a specific natural cream for Eczema.

I felt let down by moisturizers; they worked but not as well as I wanted or for the amount of time I wanted.  So I went on a moisture-hunt…  My first stop was to the Clinique counter at my local Macy’s. Instead of helpful information of their different lines and how they compare, I was unexpectedly barrated with questions about why I am not using Clinique now and that the products I am using now are “crap”.  OK, thanks for putting me down. I will continue to NOT use Clinique.

My next stop was Clarins and I was surprisingly impressed.  I like the feel of their products.  The “grammy” scent was a turn off though.  I was given some samples and used them to the last drop.  I got excited about their products but then I looked at the price tag.  WHOA…$62 for a face cream or night cream?!? That was not even close to my price range. So my search continued.

I continued on to the salon I get my hair and eyebrows done.  I have gotten a facial there before and I liked the products they used.  My esthetician pointed me to the product that would work best for me and gave me a sample.I gave this one a try for a week and Good Lord that was about 4 days too long!  It was a gel based product and boy was it sticky. It was thinner than honey, but just as sticky.  When I asked my esthetician what was wrongwith it, her response was “you are using too much”. False, I used the exact amount you told me to.  That sample could have easily lasted me about 2 weeks. But it just felt gross and made my makeup blotchy.

My last ditch effort was the CCO near me.  I figured they  must have SOMETHING that I will like.  And YAY they did! I had heard really great things from Pixie2Woo about Origins MegaMushroom. And since my skin can get irritable I figured it would be good.  I ended up picking a “gift set” that contained the MegaMushroom face cleanser, face serum, and face cream.  ALL for $52! Sounded like a deal to me. I looked up the price online and it was $62.

I have been using the products for about a month now and I figured that was enough time for a review.
*I will note that my skin type has recently changed.  I used to be oily/combo skin, but since I have been back from Vietnam and (sniff sniff) I am getting older, my skin has changed to dry/combo*

Mega-Mushroom CleanserCleanser
This is the only product of the three that I could do without.  It doesn’t lather and is VERY thin in texture.  I don’t get the “squeaky” clean feeling like I get from other cleansers.  That’s not to say its not doing its job, but it’s the product I haven’t seen many results from.

Here is the description from Origins website:  “This extremely gentle, milky lotion cleanser features a proprietary, signature blend – Hypsizygus ulmarius, Cordyceps and Reishi Mushrooms, Ginger, Turmeric and Holy Basil – as well as skin soothing Bisabolol from Chamomile and Licorice Extract. It quickly removes makeup, dirt, debris and impurities without upsetting skin’s naturally protective lipid balance and keeps even highly sensitive or reactive skin calm throughout the cleansing process.”

Mega-Mushroom Serum

Serum
I have never used a serum before prior to this so I didn’t know what to expect.  It is thicker than the cleanser but still pretty thin.  It would say its as thick at the Cetaphil moisturizer. I use about 1 pump and pat it into my skin.  I have found that this really helps the moisturizer sink into my skin.  I also feel like it has a “tightening” feature.  My skin feels refreshed and tighter.  This does have a smell; kinda like citrus or grapefruit.  Its not offensive at all but its not the most amazing smell either.

Here is the description from Origins website: “Irritation silently simmering within skin’s surface may be aging your skin faster than the candles on your birthday cake. Now it’s within your control. This patent-pending, clinically-proven serum features Dr. Weil’s famed mega-mushroom blend now fortified with Chaga and Pleurotus Mushrooms and Sea Buckthorn. So it helps defend against silent skin-agers as never before. Calms. Soothes. Makes skin more resilient.”

Mega-Mushroom Moisturizer

Moisturizer
This moisturizer is in a tub which is a downfall, but with the help of the serum I feel that this moisturizer will last for a while.  This is thick, yellowish moisturizer is really nice feeling.  It sinks into the skin pretty quickly and keeps my face feeling hydrated.   This has the same smell as the serum.

Here is the description from Origins website:  “This remarkable face cream with Hypsizygus ulmarius and Chaga mushrooms immediately helps quiet and calm skin.  By mirroring the amazing process that sends Narcissus Lily Bulbs into dormancy as a means of “self-protection”, it signals skin to conserve its energy to optimize its defenses against age accelerators. Skin has the ability to maintain a stronger, healthier, more youthful appearance.”

Overall I really like these products.  At first it took my skin a week or so to get used to the new product but after that its been smooth sailing.  I hope my CCO will keep this in stock otherwise my “moisture-hunt” will continue.  If you have ANY recommendations please send them my way.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

