Sweet Berry Lips

Now that the season has changed to Fall (almost winter), women are starting to wear darker, berry toned lipsticks, glosses, or a combination of both.

Temptalia.com is currently doing a “Sulty Season” series where she highlights the seasons best “fall/winter” colors.  I love me a bold lip, but for where I work and what I do day to day, its impractical to wear a sultry lip everyday.

The two lipsticks that I stick to are Viva Glam VI by MAC and Sinisted by MAC.  Viva Glam VI is part of  MAC’s permanent line.  And for the humanitarians out there, here is MACs statement on any Viva Glam lipstick:

“Every cent of the selling price of VIVA GLAM Lipstick and Lipglass is donated to the M·A·C AIDS Fund to support men, women, and children living with HIV and AIDS”

Viva Glam VI

MAC Viva Glam VI courtesy of maccosmetics.com

Viva Glam VI seems to be the best “fall” shade for me.  It has a flattering medium maroon tone that does not wash me out.  I am very pale so I need to be careful how and when I wear dark lip colors.  They can come off too vampy and dramatic for day to day.  This shade is about two shades darker than my natural lip color.  It contains very fine gold shimmer that is appropriate for day.  If its night time, layer on this lipstick and apply a corresponding maroon (or clear) lipgloss for a more dramatic look.

Overall I find this to be a great lipstick.  When it comes to MAC  (to me) they are the leaders in lipstick.  The consistency and color range of MAC beats all others.  I do not find that these lipsticks feather or spread out.  They last about two hours, althought it depends if you are eating and drinking.

 

 

MAC Sinister lipstick

MAC Sinister lipstick courtesy of Temptalia.com

 

The other fall lipstick that I own is Sinister (on left in picture).  This was release in October with the Venomous Villians collection.  This collection was an interesting one in that MAC collaborated with Disney to create four color palettes for four different “villians”; Evil Queen, Malificent, Cruella Deville, and Dr. Facilier.

Sinister is similar to Viva Glam VI in that it is a darker berry color. But this picks up a lot more brown.  It has a bit more shimmer, but its not your typical gold or silver glitter that most lipsticks have.  This has a very subtle red shimmer.

 

In terms of the shimmer that I have referred to in both lippies.  This is not glitter.  It is not chunky and it does not actually show on the lips.  There are other MAC lip products that do provide that kind of appearance, but I have yet to see chunky, glittery lips look flattering on ANYONE.  Overall, I prefer Sinister over Viva Glam VI because it pulls more orangey-red which is more flattering on my cool-tone skin.

If you haven’t checked out a MAC counter, I recommend it.  Lipsticks run about $18 althought they can be less or more depending on whether the are Limited Edition or permanent.  This may seem like a hefty price for a lipstick but with such high pigmentation, you really do get what you pay for.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

